Fanaticism and the Plasticity of the sense of self.

brainplasticity

I wanted to explain something that I thought would be interesting to a certain friend of mine about my theories on psychology.  The thing is that we as humans have a sense of self that we arbitrarily and unconsciously expand and retract.  We do this based on several different factors, we expand our sense of self based on affinity, shared suffering, and survival data.

For example, the illustration I usually use is that one is in the store and they have a shopping cart full of stuff, they look away for a moment and when they turn back around the shopping cart and their groceries are gone.  They become emotional.  They had projected their sense of self onto the shopping cart and the items in it because of the survival data contained there in and because of the work they had done to procure it.

The easiest way to get people to “click” is through a shared sense of suffering.  People connect more quickly through their issues than through the faculty of their reason.

untitled

People also gravitate towards one another based on psychological co-morbidity and addictions.

One of the behaviors I find the most interesting is sports fanaticism.  The person expands their sense of self to include a sports team.  What is so fascinating about this behavior is that events then have emotional data for them.  If the team loses they feel bad, wins they feel good.  It’s like magick.

0b92c7fa-977d-4b0a-af9f-3af6930598a3

I am really only interested in how people treat me.  Of course I do have some issues, I expand my sense of self to include reasonable people and highly intelligent people and people that increase my value, people that help me do my will.

Leave a Reply

